fishinginawishingwell


The grand adventure
April 25, 2012, 2:13 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’ve never been one to think like others. I don’t like convention, it’s no fun. I like creativity. I like weird stuff like unicycling and telemark skiing. A few years ago, after attending a year of Bible College I decided to scrap my plans to go on and pursue a profession of Biblical counseling. I had gotten into a fairly reputable Bible Institute, everyone was proud of me. I went for a walk with my dad and decided not to go. I stayed home and worked for a year and a half. This chapter was amazing.

I was infatuated with life. I loved people. I had spent a year swimming in the depths of truth, and now I had the freedom to apply what I’d learned. I went back to my high school job and smiled a lot. I think this is when I started to really dream. I spent my freedom on exploration and creativity. I started drawing beautiful things, screen-printing them on t-shirts and even on my car. I had a 91 Honda civic that shook violently when I hit the brakes. My car had rust holes in it the size of softballs…but that didn’t matter. I also had a pair of hand-me-down hiking boots that were 2 sizes too big. They, just like my car, had holes in them. I would go for long hikes with my dog. I explored new places and examined every trivial intricacy along the way. I owned nothing and nothing owned me. It was a time of reassessing everything. I had no commitments except showing up to my cush job each day. Out of nowhere with a friend of mine I decided to take a few days off and drive to the coast and ended up staying with the most generous strangers. A few months later we talked about going to Cody, Wyoming to look at a school my friend planned to attend. Four days later we left for Wyoming. Several hours into the trip we decided to go to the west coast instead, in my car that had holes in it and shook like our off-balanced washing machine. I was living. I loved someone that despised me because I was so caught up in life I didn’t have a moment to reciprocate their ill feelings. We became good friends.

Those days were like the renaissance to me. I was rediscovering the things that make life captivating. With my best friend I would watch the sunset over Barnum pond spending hours by a fire talking about how much God loved for us to be free from everything. Since then I’ve held tight to my free spirit. I will forever question everything you tell me is right. I don’t see any value in the conventional way of life because it is boring and life is way too awesome to get bored.

I looked up renaissance and didn’t like the definition I found. Renaissance to me isn’t so much about art and culture as it is about evaluation. You may ask who I am to attempt to redefine that word. I am Brent Wittmer, Gods kid and renaissance to me is that place in life where you put it all on the table. You lay out all the joy, freedom, beauty and excitement right next to the pain, bondage and the crap. With everything openly strewn about you start to scrap everything that obscures your perception of joy and your experience of freedom. Renaissance can be really hard. You may end up splitting that parasitic relationship that has cost you years of your life. You may need to kick an addiction. But it’s so worth the fight! What you get in the end is love, freedom, and a grand adventure. That’s what God did for us, after all. He pointed out the fact that we were mad crusty and unfit for his grand adventure. He didn’t like that at all. He actually hated it, so he did something about it. He had His son come evaluate the situation and eventually allowed him to be killed so we could leave the crap in our tracks to live with abundance.

There is a story in the Bible where all the big religious mucky-mucks bring this woman to Jesus. They say that she is an adulterer, that they had caught her in the very act. They went on to say that according to the Law of Moses, they were supposed to stone her. When I read the story I picture a beautiful young lady. A girl that fed into the lies of society because there wasn’t a real man in her life to shower her with truth and love, and grace. She was used.  Jesus with his divine smoothness says to the big wigs those of them that were sinless had his permission to throw the first stone. When they had all turned to walk away Jesus said to the woman:

“Woman, where are those accusers of yours? Has no one condemned you?”

She said, “No one, Lord.”

And Jesus said to her, “Neither do I condemn you; go and sin no more.”

Those words are renaissance. He didn’t say ‘if you sin again you’re going to get it!’ He simply said to go and sin no more. I picture Jesus driving away with the woman passenger and when she looks back and asks about what happened back there he rips the rearview mirror off the windshield and says “forget it”. That is a glimpse of life. God beckons, He pleads that we don’t get caught up in the muck but that we pursue life with every ounce of passion that he displayed to us. That’s why I hate convention. Do you think that God intended that everyone of us graduate high school and go to a highly reputable university so that we can get rich; buy big houses and a brand new car. Do you think that he intended for us each to live in a house that is so big that its up-keeping consumes our free time. He never told the world to go to work from 9 to 5 then come home and watch television until you fall asleep just to do it all over again tomorrow.

By looking at creation and reading of the Creator I have come to find that he is about passion. He wants us to above all love Him, to love everyone around us and therefore to live this life with abundance. He was creative, have you seen the stars or a toad, wasp, or porcupine? My god didn’t do things the way society tells us to. He lived big on earth and had no possessions to own him.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

